I’m Ba-a-a-a-ck!!

It’s been over a month since I’ve had a run.  Between the twins (who just turned one – EEK!) having rotating ear infections over the last two months, my husband having surgery a few weeks ago, and one of the twins having surgery last week, it’s been a rough couple of months.  All of this has meant that I haven’t exactly had  a lot of time for myself, which means I also haven’t had time to run.  After a full day of work I pick the kids up from daycare, get little girl nursed and laid down, little boy fed and laid down, I am absolutely wiped out.  At that point I tend to lay on the couch and read, or hang out in the backyard with the big kid.

My husband is the most awesome husband and father, but he’s on restrictions right now which don’t allow him to lift anything over 15 pounds.  All three kids are over his lifting limit, so I’m feeling super stressed and feeling a bit overwhelmed.  This is the perfect time for me to lace up my Tempos and hit the pavement running…except for that whole perpetual exhaustion thing.

Last night, my beloved made dinner for the family before we got home.  Yay!!  The babies ate an enormous amount of spaghetti, had a bath, and then settled in for a night of mostly uninterrupted slumber.  I grabbed the big kid, strapped him in the stroller, and set off for my first run in a long long long time.

We didn’t go far, and we didn’t go fast.  We went just over 2 miles in about 35 minutes, watching the stars blink on, the teeny sliver of moon get brighter, and the streets get darker.  It was incredible.

Today I’ve a much clearer mind, slightly sore muscles, and a feeling of peace that I haven’t experienced in far too long.  All I can think about is taking a walk tonight with the big boy, and looking forward to the day the twins are able to stay awake long enough for me to push them around for a couple of miles in the evening.  For me, the runner’s high isn’t just a feeling you get while running, but a long-lasting sense of calm and euphoria for doing something that helps squeeze out the toxic self-doubt and sense of inertia.

Happy Running, y’all!

Leave a Reply

